Our highly valuable committees allow us to seek advice from the best health care and research professionals across Australia.

Committees advise on our funding procedures, research and health ethics, mental health research, and health innovation and translation. This advice ensures we offer the highest standard of information. When we need further expertise, we can form a working committee or reference group for a particular topic.

Principal Committees

Principal committees are established under section 35 of the NHMRC Act.

The Embryo Research Licensing Committee is an additional Principal Committee established under section 16 of the Research Involving Human Embryos Act 2002.

Other Committees

In addition to the Committees listed above, a number of working committees and reference groups can be formed under section 39 of the NHMRC Act to advise NHMRC on issues that arise from time to time.

Previous Committees and Advisory Groups

Information about the functions and composition of previous NHMRC Committees and Advisory Groups can be found on the Australian Government Web Archive.

Committee Member’s responsibilities for the disclosure of interests

Appointees to Council and Committees of NHMRC are required to disclose their interests in line with the Policy on the Disclosure of Interests Requirements for Prospective and Appointed NHMRC Committee Members. This policy reflects the disclosure of interest requirements in section 42A of the NHMRC Act and instructions issued under sections 16A and 16B of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Rule 2014 (made under subsection 29(2) of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act)).

Committee Centre

The NHMRC Committee Centre allows registered users to log in and download meeting papers.

All current committees