



NHMRC Centres of Research Excellence (CRE) for Funding Commencing in 2023

The Centres of Research Excellence (CRE) scheme supports research that aims to improve health outcomes and promote or improve translation of research outcomes into policy and/or practice.

CREs awarded in 2023 will provide support for teams of researchers to pursue collaborative research and develop capacity in clinical, health services and public health research.

The applications listed below were approved for funding by the Minister for Health and Aged Care, the Hon. Mark Butler MP

App ID	CI Team	Application Title	Administering Institution	Budget \$
2024589	CIA - Professor Alice Rumbold CIB - Professor Maria Makrides CIC - Professor Kei Lui CID - Professor Barbara Masser CIE - Assoc Professor Luke Grzeskowiak CIF - Professor Emily Callander CIG - Doctor Vanessa Clifford CIH - Doctor Lisa Yelland CII - Associate Professor Amy Keir CIJ - Ms Karen Glover	Optimising human milk nutrition to improve the long-term health of preterm infants	University of Adelaide	2,500,000.00
2024601	CIA - Professor Franz Babl CIB - Associate Professor Elliot Long CIC - Associate Professor Shane George CID - Professor Simon Craig CIE - Professor Meredith Borland CIF - Professor Stuart Dalziel CIG - Professor Christopher Blyth CIH - Doctor Libby Haskell CII - Professor Katherine Lee CIJ - Associate Professor Emma Tavender	Centre of Research Excellence in Paediatric Emergency Medicine	Murdoch Children's Research Institute	2,500,000.00

Table 1. CRE in Clinical Research

BUILDING A HEALTHY AUSTRALIA

2024602	CIA - Professor Jonathan Clark CIB - Professor Ruta Gupta CIC - Professor Michael Boyer CID - Professor Helen Rizos CIE - Professor Jean Yang CIF - Associate Professor Umaimainthan Palendira CIG - Professor Gordon Wallace CIH - Professor Gordon Wallace CIH - Professor Jeremy Crook CIJ - Professor Jeremy Crook CIJ - Professor Qing Li	The Centre of Research Excellence for Applied Innovations in Oral Cancer	University of Sydney	2,500,000.00
2024615	CIA - Professor Peter Fuller CIB - Associate Professor Jun Yang CIC - Professor Michael Stowasser CID - Assoc Professor Morag Young CIE - Professor Grant Russell CIF - Doctor Stella Gwini CIG - Professor Christopher Reid CIH - Professor Christopher Reid CIH - Professor Markus Schlaich CII - Professor Trevor Mori CIJ - Professor Gurmeet Singh	Primary Aldosteronism Centre of Excellence (PACE): optimising the diagnosis and management of a common, curable but neglected cause of hypertension	Monash University	2,500,000.00
2024796	CIA - Professor Jill Newby CIB - Professor Sunil Gupta CIC - Doctor Alexis Whitton CID - Professor Helen Christensen CIE - Professor Svetha Venkatesh CIF - Associate Professor Aliza Werner-Seidler CIG - Doctor Brittany Mitchell CIH - Professor Henry Cutler CII - Professor Kon Mouzakis CIJ - Doctor Louise Birrell	CORE-DEP: Centre of Research Excellence in Depression Treatment Precision	University of New South Wales	2,500,000.00
2024803	CIA - Professor Kim Felmingham CIB - Professor Benjamin Harrison CIC - Professor Rick Richardson CID - Professor Bronwyn Graham CIE - Professor Richard Bryant CIF - Professor Richard Bryant CIG - Professor Meaghan O'Donnell CIG - Professor Sarah Whittle CIH - Associate Professor Mayuresh Korgaonkar CII - Professor Tanja Jovanovic CIJ - Professor Barbara Rothbaum	Boosting Exposure Therapy Through Enhanced Research	University of Melbourne	2,500,000.00

Table 2. CRE in Health Services Research

App ID	CI Team	Application Title	Administering Institution	Budget \$
2024658	CIA - Professor Caroline Homer CIB - Professor Joshua Vogel CIC - Professor Pisake Lumbiganon CID - Professor Shivaprasad Goudar CIE - Professor William Pomat CIF - Associate Professor Meghan Bohren CIG - Doctor Lisa Vallely CIH - Professor Kirsten Black CII - Professor Adrienne Gordon CIJ - Ms Susannah Leisher	ARPAN - Accelerating Research and Progress in maternal And Newborn health: A Centre for Research Excellence to improve maternal and newborn health in the post-COVID-19 pandemic era	Burnet Institute	2,500,000.00
2024717	CIA - Professor Danielle Mazza CIB - Professor Kirsten Black CIC - Professor Deborah Bateson CID - Professor Wendy Norman CIE - Professor Gita Mishra CIF - Professor Jane Fisher CIG - Associate Professor Luke Grzeskowiak CIH - Associate Professor Kristina Edvardsson CII - Associate Professor Laura Tarzia CIJ - Professor Sharon Cameron	SPHERE - The Centre of Research Excellence in Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health in Primary Care	Monash University	2,500,000.00
2024782	CIA - Professor Valsamma Eapen CIB - Professor Kerrie Doyle CIC - Associate Professor Rebekah Grace CID - Associate Professor Susan Woolfenden CIE - Professor Ilan Katz CIF - Associate Professor Jane Kohlhoff CIG - Associate Professor Penny Reeves CIH - Professor Katherine Boydell CII - Associate Professor Shanti Raman CIJ - Professor Lynn Kemp	Centre of Research Excellence in supporting child and family health for priority populations: Addressing inequity and supporting positive life trajectories through strengths-based tiered access and resources (STAR- CRE)	University of New South Wales	2,500,000.00
2024876	CIA - Professor Erica Wood CIB - Professor Zoe McQuilten CIC - Professor Dennis Petrie CID - Ms Linley Bielby CIE - Doctor Laura Fanning CIF - Professor David Burgner CIG - Professor Jason Roberts CIH - Associate Professor Anneke van der Walt CII - Associate Professor Leah Heiss CIJ - Doctor James Daly	OPTIMAL: OPTimising Immunoglobulin Management in Australia	Monash University	2,500,000.00

Table 3.	CRE in Public Health Research
----------	-------------------------------

App ID	CI Team	Application Title	Administering Institution	Budget \$
2024622	CIA - Professor Freya Fowkes CIB - Professor Leanne Robinson CIC - Professor Julie Simpson CID - Professor Richard Price CIE - Professor Peter Gething CIF - Professor Alyssa Barry CIG - Professor James Beeson CIH - Associate Professor Kamala Ley-Thriemer CII - Associate Professor Bridget Barber CIJ - Professor Ivo Mueller	MASTER-MAP: Modern Acceleration STrategies for ERadication of Malaria in the Asia-Pacific	Burnet Institute	2,500,000.00
2024716	CIA - Associate Professor Adrian Cameron CIB - Professor Gary Sacks CIC - Professor Anna Peeters CID - Professor Simone Pettigrew CIE - Doctor Megan Ferguson CIF - Professor Kathryn Backholer CIG - Professor Steven Allender CIH - Associate Professor Sze Lin Yoong CII - Doctor Jaithri Ananthapavan CIJ - Doctor Miranda Blake	Centre of Research Excellence in Food Retail EnvironmentS for Health: Next Generation (RE-FRESHING)	Deakin University	2,500,000.00
2024750	CIA - Professor Virginia Wiseman CIB - Professor Barbara McPake CIC - Professor Rebecca Guy CID - Associate Professor Jason Ong CIE - Professor John Kaldor CIF - Professor Guy Marks CIG - Doctor Larry Liu CIH - Professor Karen Canfell CII - Associate Professor Anthony Newall CIJ - Doctor Richard Gray	Stronger Investments for Infectious Diseases (STRIDE)	University of New South Wales	2,500,000.00
2024867	CIA - Doctor Shuai Li CIB - Associate Professor Julia Steinberg CIC - Professor Melissa Southey CID - Associate Professor Justine Gatt CIE - Doctor Enes Makalic CIF - Professor Shyamali Dharmage CIG - Doctor Jesse Young CIH - Doctor Jessica Miller CII - Doctor Lucas Calais Ferreira CIJ - Professor John Hopper	Centre of Research Excellence and Expertise in Genetic Epidemiology for Precision Population Health	University of Melbourne	2,500,000.00