



NHMRC e-ASIA 2020 Joint Research Program applications recommended for funding commencing in 2021

About the Scheme

The NHMRC e-ASIA Joint Research Program (JRP) supports Australian participation and partnership in international collaborative research through the e-ASIA Joint Research Program. The e-ASIA Joint Research Program supports international joint research projects in the East Asia region on a multilateral basis, and promotes the interaction of researchers through scientific workshops. Fields of cooperation are decided among the e-ASIA participating member organisations and funding is for up to three years.

International collaborative research projects are selected through an open call for proposals. Fields of cooperation in this funding call were infectious disease, cancer, mental health and climate change effects on human health. Applications must be supported by a minimum of three member organisations to be successful.

The applications listed in the table below were assessed against the assessment criteria and found to be the most competititive and represent value for money. They are have been approved for funding to commence in 2021. They are listed in application identification number (App ID) order.

2000466			Administering Institution	Budget
	CIA - Dr Diana Hansen CIB - Professor Wei Shi CIC - Professor Di Yu CID - Dr R. Tedjo Sasmono	Identification of molecular and cellular pathways predicting susceptibility or resistance to severe dengue fever	The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research	\$761,481.45
2000581	CID - Di K. Tedjo Sasinono CIA - Associate Professor Yuming Guo CIB - Professor Anthony Capon CIC - Professor Peng Bi CID - Professor Bin Jalaludin CIE - Professor Wenbiao Hu CIF - Associate Professor Donna Green CIG - Associate Professor Ying Zhang CIH - Associate Professor Julie Arblaster CII - Dr Shanshan Li CIJ - Dr Dung Phung	Climate Change and Human Health in Asia: Current Impacts, Future Risks, and Health Benefits of Mitigation Policies	Monash University	\$655,307.50
2001110	CIA - Professor John Mariadason CIB - Professor Temduang Limpaiboon CIC - Professor Yoshimasa Saito CID - Dr Oliver Klein CIE - Dr Andreas Behren CIF - Associate Professor David Williams	Novel precision-based treatments for biliary tract cancer	La Trobe University	\$644,241.10
2001548	CIA - Dr Tuan Anh Hguyen CIB - Professor Lily Dongxia Xiao CIC - Professor Henry Brodaty CID - Associate Professor Bianca Brijnath CIE - Dr Andre Queiroz De Andrade CIF - Professor Adrian Esterman CIG - Professor Susan Kurrle CIH - Professor Maria Crotty CII - Professor Penelope Schofield CIJ - Professor Sunil Bhar	e-DIVA (empowering Dementia Carers with an iSupport Virtual Assistant)	University of South Australia	\$1,857,362.70